The Caucus

The Mayors and Commissioners Caucus provides our government leaders from all 11 counties with a unified voice to advance economic development policies at the state level. Our government leaders are active participants in the region’s growth and change, and the Caucus is critical to the growth of Northeast Indiana and the success of our businesses’ future.

The Caucus uses consensus-based decision making to reach agreement and relies upon cooperation and collaboration to address the region’s complex issues. To this end, the Caucus provides a forum for the discussion of common issues and multijurisdictional challenges, and serves as a partner and sounding board for leaders from other sectors. 

11 counties with a unified voice to advance economic development policies at the state level.

Learn more about the Northeast Indiana Mayors and Commissioners Caucus. 

Download PDF

The Mayors and Commissioners Caucus also works closely with the Northeast Indiana Regional Chamber to discuss the region’s legislative agenda. The group meets regularly to address economic development issues, legislative advocacy, and other matters of common concern within the region. Key focuses include transportation funding, local food and beverage tax ability, and criminal sentencing reform.

The Caucus

  • develops consensus positions on key issues facing the region and advocates for their adoption by other levels of government;
  • monitors policy at the local, regional, state, and federal levels;
  • informs discussions and partners with private, nonprofit, and public sectors to implement change;
  • provides a forum for the resolution of differences among the region’s jurisdictions; and
  • provides opportunities, through dialogue, for enhancing personal relationships and building trust among the region’s municipalities.

Learn more about the Northeast Indiana Mayors and Commissioners Caucus. 

Download PDF

Meet the Members

Adams County

  • Steven Kahn | Commissioner 
  • Rex Moore | Commissioner 
  • Mayor Daniel Rickord | City of Decatur
  • Mayor Gregg Sprunger | City of Berne 
  • Stan Stoppenhagen | Commissioner

Allen County        

  • Karl Bandemer | City of Fort Wayne 
  • Richard Beck | Commissioner 
  • Therese Brown | Commissioner 
  • Mayor Tom Henry | City of Fort Wayne 
  • Mayor Joe Kelsey | City of Woodburn
  • Mayor Steve McMichael | City of New Haven 
  • Nelson Peters | Commissioner

DeKalb County

  • Bill Hartman | Commissioner 
  • Mayor Todd Fiandt | City of Garrett 
  • Mayor Michael Ley | City of Auburn 
  • Todd Sanderson | Commissioner
  • Mayor Ron Walter | City of Butler 
  • Michael Watson | Commissioner

Huntington County

  • Larry Buzzard | Commissioner 
  • Rob Miller | Commissioner
  • Mayor Richard Strick | City of Huntington
  • Tom Wall | Commissioner 

Kosciusko County 

  • Bob Conley | Commissioner
  • Cary Groninger | Commissioner 
  • Brad Jackson | Commissioner 
  • Mayor Joe Thallemer | City of Warsaw 

LaGrange County 

  • Terry Martin | Commissioner 
  • Kevin Meyers | Commissioner 
  • Larry Miller | Commissioner 

Noble County

  • Mayor Patty Fisel | City of Ligonier 
  • Mayor Suzanne Handshoe | City of Kendallville 
  • Anita Hess | Commissioner 
  • Gary Leatherman | Commissioner
  • Justin Stump | Commissioner 

Steuben County

  • Mayor Dick Hickman | City of Angola
  • Will Howard | Commissioner
  • Lynne Liechty | Commissioner
  • Ken Shelton | Commissioner

Wabash County

  • Jeff Dawes | Commissioner 
  • Barry Eppley | Commissioner
  • Brian Haupert | Commissioner 
  • Mayor Scott Long | City of Wabash 

Wells County

  • Blake Gerber | Commissioner
  • Tamara Robbins | Commissioner 
  • Mayor John Whicker | City of Bluffton 
  • Kevin Woodward | Commissioner 

Whitley County

  • Chad Banks | Commissioner 
  • Mayor Ryan Daniel | City of Columbia City
  • Theresa Green | Commissioner 
  • George Schrumpf | Commissioner

Want to see other ways we are collaborating?

Explore Now