Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership Announces 2019 Board Elections

May 6th, 2019

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – Leaders throughout the 11-county region continue to show their support for the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership’s mission and vision through service to the organization’s governing board.

The Regional Opportunities Council (ROC), the investor board of the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership, elected the 2019 slate of directors to the Regional Partnership’s governing board. These members join a robust regional board comprised of leaders from a variety of industries. Click here to review the full list of governing board members.

The Governing Board is responsible for providing strategic leadership oversight to the Regional Partnership's operations and fiscal matters.

The 2019 Slate of Governing Board members elected to serve from 2019-2022 are:

  • Sherilyn Emberton, President of Huntington University;
  • Brian Emerick, Owner & CEO of Micropulse;
  • Jeff Gery, Chief Legal Officer of Ash Brokerage;
  • Anton King, Executive Director of the DeKalb Economic Development Partnership;
  • Isaac Lee, Executive Director of Steuben County Economic Development Corporation;
  • Michael Packnett, President & CEO of Parkview Health;
  • Nelson Peters, Allen County Commissioner;
  • Mark Millett, President & CEO of Steel Dynamics, Inc.;
  • John Miller, President of Consumer Sales & Operations of Best-One Tire & Service;
  • Tom Niezer, Partner at Barrett McNagny;
  • Joe Thallemer, Mayor of Warsaw; and
  • Jeff Turner, Senior Vice President & Legal Counsel of Metal Technologies.

“Northeast Indiana must compete globally for businesses and talent. My mission as board vice chair is to support the Regional Partnership’s tenacious goals to increase per capita personal income against the national average, grow the region’s population to one million residents and raise educational and credential attainment to 60 percent. With collaborative leadership and a dedication to our shared vision, the board is committed to moving this region forward to increase prosperity for our region’s residents,” said Sherilyn Emberton, President of Huntington University and Regional Partnership’s Board Vice Chair.

Additionally, the governing board of the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership elected the members serving on the board of the Northeast Indiana Fund (NIF), the Regional Partnership’s 501(c)(3) support organization. The NIF strengthens the capacity and economic competitiveness of Northeast Indiana through sustained leadership, collaboration, transformational initiatives and alignment of resources to help the region reach shared goals.

The NIF Board members serving from 2019-2022 are:

  • Ian Boyce, Principal at Dickmeyer Boyce Financial Management; and
  • Maclyn Parker, Olive B. Cole Foundation.

“I’m thankful for our board members’ strong leadership, trust and collaboration because that’s what makes our region competitive in the global economy. We are in a war for businesses, jobs and talent. We believe that by ‘working together, Northeast Indiana is a magnet for the best businesses and talent and is recognized as one of the nation’s most prosperous regions.’ That vision for Northeast Indiana is critical to the growth of our 11-county region, and it takes dedicated board leadership to grow our region’s economy,” said John Sampson, President and CEO of the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership.   

Visit the Regional Partnership's website for a full list of Governing BoardNIF Board and Regional Opportunities Council members. 

To learn more, visit the website at

About the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership

The Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership’s mission is to build, market and sell Northeast Indiana to increase business investment. Founded in 2006, the public-private partnership strives to build a globally competitive region. The Partnership’s Vision 2030 framework supports collaborative regional efforts to increase per capita income, population growth and educational attainment by focusing on business attraction, talent attraction and talent development. The Partnership represents 11 member counties: Adams, Allen, DeKalb, Huntington, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Noble, Steuben, Wabash, Wells and Whitley. For more information, visit


Kate Virag
Vice President of Marketing & Strategic Communications
Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership

Categories Press Releases