Public invited to share ideas and offer input on US 30 corridor

October 26th, 2016

Talk of the Town - Whitley County

The Whitley County US 30 Planning Committee has announced a series of scheduled Public Input Sessions for November and December.

Four sessions, to be held in different parts of Whitley County along the US 30 corridor, will inform the public on the current issues with US 30 and the potential ideas for elevating this highway to Interstate status. The public is encouraged to attend to gather information and ask questions.

The meetings are scheduled as follows:
- November 1 at 6 p.m. at ​​New Hope Wesleyan Church, 971 North 400 West in Columbia City
- November 17 at 10 a.m. at the ​Whitley County Government Center, 220 West Van Buren Street in Columbia City
- November 29 at 6 p.m. at ​​Coesse Elementary School, 2250 South 500 East in Columbia City
- December 1 at 6 p.m. at ​​Columbia City High School, 600 North Whitley Street in Columbia City

While no finalized plans have been established by the local planning committee or the Indiana Department of Transportation, consideration for elevation to interstate status has been considered for multiple years. 

"We want the public's input, so we can plan for the future of our community," said Mayor Ryan Daniel. 

The group has already held three business-focused meetings in the last two months. These four public input sessions will focus on residential issues and needs. 

"It's important for us to help lead and guide INDOT as they make decisions that will affect Whitley County for generations to come," commented Commissioner George Schrumpf. "This group has really focused on what is best for Whitley County and its citizens." 

The meetings will be led by local officials, not by the Indiana Department of Transportation. 

The US 30 Planning Committee is a subcommittee of the US 30 Coalition, which encompasses leaders from seven counties along the US corridor. In 2015, the US 30 coalition was created to be an effective voice for the future of US Highway 30 improvements. 

Each county, from Allen County to Porter County, has a local planning committee that is made up of local individuals to make decisions on what is the best option for their portion of US 30. The Whitley County local planning committee is made up of the following individuals: Mayor Ryan Daniel, Commissioner George Schrumpf, County Planning director Nathan Bilger, County engineer Brandon Forrester, City Community Development director Jeff Walker, Economic Development director Jon Myers, Chamber executive director Jennifer Zartman Romano, Parkview Vice President Mark Hisey, Farm Bureau President Dane Drew and City Plan Commission Member Larry Weiss.

Categories Infrastructure