Regional Development Authority Board Announced

June 25th, 2015

June 25, 2015

Regional Development Authority Board Announced

Final Milestone Achieved to Apply for Regional Cities Funding

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – Yesterday, June 24, the Mayors’ & Commissioners’ Caucus of Northeast Indiana voted in the five member inaugural board of the Northeast Indiana Regional Development Authority (RDA). Electing the board of the RDA was the final step in creating Northeast Indiana’s Regional Cities Initiative proposal.

The five members of the RDA board are Brad Bishop of OrthoWorx, Andrew Briggs of Bank of Geneva, Gene Donaghy of Northeastern REMC, Bob Marshall of Campbell & Fetter Bank and Jeff Turner of Metal Technologies.

As required by state statute, the RDA is the quasi-governmental entity that has been created to apply for state funding available through the Regional Cities Initiative. The five member RDA board was chosen from an initial slate of 22 candidates. The Northeast Indiana RDA represents Adams, Allen, DeKalb, Huntington, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Noble, Steuben, Wabash, Wells and Whitley counties.

“I’m proud of the spirit of collaboration in our region, and I am honored to be serving on the RDA board,” said Donaghy. “By forming the largest RDA in the state, we are demonstrating the adaptability and tenacity this region has to create economic progress. We know what challenges lie before us and we have a plan to meet them.”

The Mayors’ and Commissioners’ Caucus represents the 11 counties and 16 cities that make up the RDA’s territory, which gives them the authority to determine the RDA board members. The caucus, which is convened by the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership, also enables local public officials to speak with a unified voice at the state level on projects and priorities on which they have consensus.

“The potential for progress is unlimited when we unite around a common goal. Collaboration in action is what we’re seeing here,” said John Sampson, president and CEO of the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership. “We’re creating the future of Northeast Indiana by capitalizing on the grit and determination that defines this region and using it to unleash growth and accelerate progress.”

The goal of the Regional Cities Initiative is to make Indiana a magnet for talent attraction by creating a national identity for Indiana cities. Regions have been invited to compete for up to $42 million in state matching funds by submitting proposals with a slate of game‐changing, quality of life projects (amenities and attractions that will attract and retain young talent).

To find out more about the Regional Cities Initiative, go to

About the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership

The Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership was formed in 2006 to help build a globally competitive economy in Northeast Indiana. It is a public-private partnership creating business investment by generating business leads, developing product and fostering regional collaboration. In 2010, the Partnership launched Vision 2020 to bring the region together around five key areas for economic growth: 21st Century Talent, Competitive Business Climate, Entrepreneurship, Infrastructure and Quality of Life. The 10 counties of Northeast Indiana include Adams, Allen, DeKalb, Huntington, LaGrange, Noble, Steuben, Wabash, Wells and Whitley. For more information, visit

About Greater Fort Wayne Inc.

Greater Fort Wayne (GFW) Inc. serves Fort Wayne and Allen County, Indiana, as its primary point of contact for economic growth. GFW Inc.s main focus is on prosperity and community vibrancy through economic development, advocacy, programs and resources that support business success, leadership development, graduate retention and community engagement. To learn more, visit


Courtney Tritch
Vice President of Marketing
Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership

Categories Press Releases